Skip to main content

Economic Minister and Deputy Minister President Dr. Volker Wissing appoints Matthias Kuhl to the Council for Technology in Rhineland-Palatinate

Since 2010 the Council for Technology has at the behest of Minister President Malu Dreyer provided advice and counsel to the state government in matters of research, technology and innovation policy. The council members are appointed by Economic Minister Dr. Wissing in the name of the state government based on their demonstrated technical expertise in various sectors and areas of technology. The task of the Council is to consider future-relevant issues and development opportunities for technologies, their value and significance for scientific excellence, for the economy as well as for the safeguarding and creation of future-oriented employment opportunities in Rhineland-Palatinate.

Figure: Council for Technology Rhineland Palatinate


The interdisciplinary composition of the Council ensures that the state government receives broad-based recommendations for technologies as well as responses to the associated challenges in science, economics and society.

The honorary body consists of 16 members, eight each from the fields of science and economics.

Council for Technology members (as of July 2018)

Representing science:

  • Professor Dr. Ralph Bergmann, University of Trier, Professor of Commercial Informatics
  • Professor Dr.-Ing.Ulf Breuer, Institute for Composite Materials GmbH, CEO
  • Professor Dr. Katharina Landfester, Max-Planck-Institute for Polymer Research, Director
  • Professor Dr. Michael Maskos, Fraunhofer ICT-IMM, Head of Institute
  • Professor Dr. Dieter Prätzel-Wolters, Fraunhofer-Institute for Industrial Mathematics (ITWM), Institute Head
  • Professor Dr. Monika Saumer, Hochschule Kaiserslautern University of Applied Sciences, Faculty of Computer Sciences and Microsystems Technology
  • Professor Dr. Gabriele E. Schaumann, University of Coblenz-Landau, Vice-President
  • Professor Dr. med. Frauke Zipp, Department of Neurology of the University Medical Center of the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Director


Representing economics:

  • Dr. rer. soc. oec.Gerhard F. Braun, State Association for Business Federations, Rhineland-Palatinate (LVU)
  • President Claudia Grässle, TBS gGmbH, CEO
  • Frauke Heistermann, AXIT GmbH, Member of the Executive Committee
  • Matthias Kuhl, Premosys GmbH, CEO and Managing Partner
  • Julia Schnitzler, Srassburger Filter GmbH & Co. KG, CEO
  • Dr. Rolf Slatter, Sensitec GmbH, CEO and Managing Partner
  • Susanne Szczesny-Oßing, EWM AG, President of the Supervisory Board
  • Dr. Thomas Weber, Senior Vice President, BASF SE